I Miss Books.

I miss reading. Don’t get me wrong and think that I never read anymore, but my novel intake per month has drastically dropped. I can honestly say it’s probably the thing I miss the most since having a baby.
Sleeping through the night? Nope, don’t miss it since even before Maddie came along I didn’t do it.
Staying up late and sleeping in? Nope, same as straight sleep. I’ve always been one of those early to bed early to rise people.
Eating what I want? Still do, but mostly because other then a few things I actually enjoy eating well and did that before pregnancy too. The same goes for drinking. I haven’t been a drinker of any regularity for years. I used to go literally months in between drinks.
But I greatly miss reading. I’ve always been a voracious reader. I remember keeping a list of books I had read in high school but stopped after hitting 500. I’m not exaggerating when I say I have a personal library… I just have no where for all of my books so they are divided up between our place and my moms and dads. I even used yo donate ones I didn’t enjoy or had grown tired of to libraries or take them into work for people. My average book consumption has been at least 3-4 a week. Not anymore.
I just finished a novel after putting the missy down for nap #2 before starting this and realized I think I have only read 4-5 books since we came home from the hospital. That’s crazy to me. I know there are people who don’t really read but for anyone who does they know how itchy you can get after awhile of no books.
My preference is trashy romances, bodice rippers and thrillers although I do like to throw in bios and non fiction every now and then. Yet at this point I’m excited to get to read the paper or a tabloid. It’s not that the baby never sleeps. It’s just that when she sleeps at night so do I and during the day I’m taking care of household issues, but I’mhopeful that by years end things will start to pick back up in the book department. After all, several of my favourite authors have new books due in the next few months.

2 thoughts on “I Miss Books.

  1. Someone once antagonistically called me “Library Girl.” The thought now makes me smile. One might assume from my habit of readwalking that I couldn’t stop myself from reading, ever, but the truth is that I haven’t had as much time to read since becoming a parent. Walking the dog affords me the perfect opportunity to sneak in a few pages, so I relish and seize that opportunity as often as I’m able!

    • I know what you mean about silly kids making fun when you were younger. I used to get it for that as well. I haven’t found my new reading time yet and my old one doesn’t work at the moment. I used yo read on my commute to work which on public transit here was about an hour each way. I’ll figure something out soonish I hope. I’ve done the reading while walking bit… ever have a trip up?

Leave a Reply

