Typical ‘Girl’ Movies I Have No Intention Of Ever Watching

Don’t get me wrong; I’m a girly girl at times and I love a good romance or tear jerker but I also have this pig-tailed overall wearing tom-boy inside of me that squeals happily seeing things blow up as well. I have favourite movies in a varity of genres and they are far reaching, but I do tend to have some very ‘girly’ movie habits at times, oddly enough it fluctuates but my go-to’s are always the same. I know when people hear ‘I like girly movies’ certain films immediately come to mind. Yes, some of them are true for me but, and it’s a big but, some are so far off that I have never seen them or plan on seeing them. So here is my list.

Typical Girly Movies I Have No Intention of Watching

1. The Sound of Music. Don’t get me wrong, I love me a musical. Grease? The Labyrinth? LOVE them, I know most of the words. Rent? Oh yeah, that one too, but there’s something about this one that just turns me off. I can’t tell you what it is since I can’t explain why it’s true but it is.

2. Gone With The Wind. Just not my cup of tea. Something about useless greedy women that rubs me wrong. I’ve spoken to people who love this movie and hate it. I don’t have any overwhelming feelings either way, just a movie that doesn’t make me want to watch it.

3. Pretty Woman. That’s right, I said it, Pretty Woman. I LOVE Julia Roberts in so many of her films but there’s just something shudder worthy for me in watching a movie about a hooker falling for a John no matter how nice he is. And how convient he happens to be loaded. Pfft, yeah right, ask a real hooker how often that happens.

4. Ghost. I don’t get Demi Moore. I don’t find her a great actress. I don’t mind Patrick Swayze. I like Whoopi Goldberg. I can’t again find any interest in seeing this. Maybe it has something to do with all the spoof scenes of the clay moulding.

5. Dirty Dancing. I swear I have nothing against Patrick Swayze, he just happens to be in a couple of these movies. I also have no problem with dancing movies, like musicals I like them. I just am not into some.

6. Twilight. I know I`ll get flack for this. I will admit to watching the first one; so glad I pirated it and didn’t pay to see that CRAP. I read the book only because I made a deal with my best friend in exchange for reading a book of my choice. Why woulld I want to support anything that touts stalkerish and psychological abuse as romantic or that fluffy useless girls are what we should all aim to be? I would slap Stephanie Moyer if I could get close enough. No thanks, I have more respect for myself and who I hope my daughter will become to waste time on that drivel, especially as the first film came out a year or so after I’d recently had my own quasi-stalker.

7. The Notebook. I actually really truly enjoy both Ryan Gosling and Rachel McAdams. I also don’t have any issue with the idea of the story. I just know I couldn’t get through this movie in any sense without bawling ridiculously hard and non stop, I’m pretty sure it would start at the opening credits since I know where the story leads. ‘C’s grandparents went through as situation with Alzheimer’s and having seen first hand how painful it was for one person to be so fully commited to another who is no longer able to recognize them or even communicate is heart breaking.

8. Sabrina (The 90’s Remake). I LOVE Audrey Hepburn, LOVE her. I j=have most of her movies and the original Sabrina(1954) if one of my all time favourites as well as one of the first movies I remember ever watching. How can you replace Audrey Hepburn, Cary Grant and Humphey Borgart with Harrison Ford? You can’t. You just can’t. Why tarnish a beautiful movie/memory with that crud.

I’m sure there are more but it’s getting late and there’s a baby who will be waking me up in a few hours. These are the ones that come to mind most readily. If there are any you have on your list of Do Not Watch let me know, eventually I’ll do a list of Action/Thrillers that I love as well as a list of Girly ones too.

2 thoughts on “Typical ‘Girl’ Movies I Have No Intention Of Ever Watching

  1. I loved this post. It’s good to know there are women out there who also enjoy seeing something other than the sappy and the tear jerking girly movies out there. I do love a good chick flick once in a while, but I would go crazy only watching them. Also, the Audry Hepburn Sebrina is the best! I refuse to see the remake. It is one of my favorites and seeing someone else in it would be just wrong.

Leave a Reply

