Pasta Sauce

‘C’s paternal grandmother and great grandmother were born in Italy and he’d grown up his whole life eating their true italian food. Most of it made from scratch and from everything I’d ever tried absolutely fabulous. Any time I made pasta and used jarred sauce I got the ‘LOOK’, you know the one; the ‘OMG, this broad is feeding me crap’ look and then he’d proceed to suffer through dinner extolling his grandparents sauces and cooking. I’m not a bad cook, never was, I had just always grown up with jarred or occassionally canned sauce so my journey to creating a pasta sauce he liked began. That was 4 years ago.

In those 4 years there have been some he liked more than others but none that ‘C’ considered awful, thankfully. I finally managed to zero in of what he preffered and now when I say we’re having pasta he gets excited and asks if I’m making the sauce. I don’t always make it but I try to. Here’s my recipe

Katie’s Pasta Sauce

1 Lg can crushed tomatoes (unseasoned) or 15 fresh tomatoes you’ll have to crush and process

1/2 Sweet Onion chopped

2-4 Garlic Cloves Chopped

1 1/2 Celery Stalks

1/2 Tsp Celery Seeds

1/2 Tsp Oregano

1/2 Tsp Parsley

2 Tbs Grated Parmesan Cheese

Salt and Pepper to taste

Instructions

In a medium pot pour of the tomatoes and set burner to med/high.

Chop onion, celery and garlic to tiny minced pieces if you dont have a food processor or if you do use that until all veggies are minced nicely. (I have a hand held food mincer and used it in the tomatoes)

Add veggies to the tomatoes.

Season with spices. Sometimes when I want to skae things up I’ll add one or two other spices for fun.

Stir all ingredients together and let pot simmer on low/medium with a lid on for several hours stirring occassionally. Ideally should simmer for at least 4 hours to let the excess liquid evaporate.

About 30-40 minutes before serving add the Parmesan to the sauce and turn temp down to low.

I’ve done this recipe with both ground beef added as well as chicken chunks and I’ve used it to make Chicken Parmigiana from scratch.  It tastes just as nice the next day for left overs too.

2 thoughts on “Pasta Sauce

Leave a Reply

